The Allan R. Millett Dissertation Research Fellowship Award

The Society for Military History is pleased to offer the Allan R. Millett Dissertation Research Fellowship Award.  The Award honors Professor Allan R. Millett, a former President of the Society and an eminent, prolific scholar who directed over fifty dissertations in his long career.  The winner receives an award of $750.00 for doctoral dissertation research on a topic in any field of military history.

The submission process for the 2018 Millett Dissertation Research Fellowship Award can be found here.

2017 Millett Prize
Cameron Zinsou, Mississippi State University
Dissertation Title: “Occupied: The Civilian Experience in Montélimar, 1939-1946"

2016 Millett Prize
Mary Elizabeth Walters, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Dissertation Title: “Opportunism or Compassion? NATO's Humanitarianism and Albanian Responses during the 1999 Kosovo Refugee Crisis."

2015 Millett Prize
Sofia Zepeda, University of Arizona
Dissertation Title: “Fighting Men, Enduring Women: Sailors and their Families in the United Kingdom, 1770-1820”