The SMH-GCMF Prize for the Use of Digital Technology in Teaching Military History Submission Guidelines

The Society for Military History (SMH) in partnership with The George C. Marshall Foundation (GCMF) is now soliciting nominations for their Prize for the Use of Digital Technology in Teaching Military History. This is awarded annually to an individual, group or institution that creates, designs and implements material for use in teaching military history utilizing evolving digital technology. 

Through this prize the Marshall Foundation and SMH seek to provide an incentive for creating new and innovative technology based projects for use in teaching military history.  This prize is intended to stimulate new thinking in how technology can be used to create new and better tools for studying military history. The most important criterion for the successful project will be its utility for teaching military history in a classroom environment, although consideration will also be given to projects that help students with self-development or collaborative learning. A second criterion will be its suitability for publication as a digitally interactive publication, embodying multimedia and incorporating exercises that confirm the user's comprehension.
For the 2017 award, projects produced in the last three years (2014-2016) are eligible for nomination.
Submitted digital materials must be deliverable through electronic means to the committee and can be sent to the committee’s executive secretary The submission deadline is December 14, 2016. In the event where those materials require the exclusive use of a single platform such as Android, iOS, or Windows, the submitter should create and submit a comprehensive digital or video demonstration outlining the utility of their product for teaching military history in a classroom environment and/or a functional copy of the program itself.

The Society will present the award at its annual meeting in Jacksonville, Florida on March 30-April 2, 2017. There, the authors/producers will receive recognition at the Society’s annual Awards Luncheon, an award plaque, and a $1000 prize.