Distinguished Book Awards for 2017

Background: The Society for Military History is soliciting nominations for its annual Distinguished Book Awards for 2017. Established in 1933, the Society is devoted to stimulating and advancing the study of military history. Its membership (today more than 2,600) includes many of the most prominent scholars, soldiers, and citizens interested in military history. The Society encourages research and publication across the whole range of military history (ancient, medieval, and modern, including related popular studies). The Society publishes The Journal of Military History, the leading international scholarly journal of military history.

The Distinguished Book Awards: For the 2017 awards, books published (copyright date) in 2015 and 2016 are eligible. Works previously nominated for the Society’s book awards may be resubmitted provided they were published in 2015. At the discretion of the Committee, nominated books will be considered for one or more of the following prize categories:

  • American Military History (works by single or multiple authors reflecting original research and original contributions to military history)
  • Non-American Military History (works by single or multiple authors reflecting original research and original contributions to military history)
  • Reference Works
  • Biography and memoirs
The committee will make its selections for awards by January 31, 2017. The Society will give the awards at its annual meeting in Jacksonville, Florida on March 30-April 2, 2017. There, the author of each prize-winning book will receive recognition at the Society’s annual Awards Luncheon, an award plaque, and a $1000 prize.

The Committee must receive books for consideration for the 2017 awards by 31 October 2016. Please send a copy of each book for consideration with a letter specifying consideration for the SMH Book Awards to each committee member at the addresses listed below. The Committee recognizes the expense to authors and publishers associated with submitting five copies of each nominated book and therefore encourages serious submissions only. Please note that books will not be returned and that only award winners will be notified of selection.


Patrick Speelman, Ph.D.
Chair, SMH Book Awards Committee
Phone: 516-726-5690
Email: [email protected]

SMH 2017 Book Awards
Committee Member Addresses

Kevin Holzimmer, Ph.D.
605 Lismore Place
Montgomery, AL 36117

Gervase Phillips, Ph.D.
Department of History, Politics, and Philosophy
Manchester Metropolitan University
Manton Bld.
Rosamond St. West
M15 6LL
United Kingdom

Margaret Sankey, Ph.D.
130 Shelton Place
Deatsville, AL 36022

Patrick Speelman, Ph.D.
11 Crampton Avenue
Great Neck, NY 11023

Heather Stur, Ph.D.
University of Southern Mississippi
Department of History
118 College Dr. #5047
Hattiesburg, MS 39406